Candidates and Races

Supreme Court Justice

The Wisconsin Supreme Court consists of seven justices elected for ten-year terms.
Justices are chosen in statewide elections on the nonpartisan April ballot and
take office on the following August 1. The Wisconsin Constitution provides
that only one justice can be elected in any single year. In the event of a vacancy,
the governor may appoint a person to serve until an election can be held to
fill the seat.